(L) Stephanie Stombach, (C) Gail Lombardi - KOM Award Winner, (R) Sonja Carvahlo   Sheila Costello - KOM Award Winner & Sonja Carvahlo

The purpose of the Katherine O. Musgrave Public Service Award is to recognize an individual, organization or institution for outstanding work in nutrition policy, education, or research. 

MNC presents the award each year at the annual spring conference.

To be considered for this award, nominees must:

  1. have a completed nomination form;
  2. not be a previous award winner;
  3. have accomplished their work in Maine.

2015-2016 KOM Award Nomination Form

KOM Award Cover Letter

Please read the above forms for instructions on the nomination process. Contact Andrea at alaflamme@gsfb.org if you have questions about the nomination process.

The 2017 Nomination Form must be returned to Andrea LaFlamme by March 1, 2017

Past Recipients of the Katherine O. Musgrave Award

  • 1986 Ken and Jim Raffel, Arby's
  • 1987 Raquel Boehmer
  • 1988 Patricia Pierson
  • 1989 Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program
  • 1990 Maine Organic Farmers and Growers Association
  • 1991 Maureen McCarthy
  • 1992 Katherine Musgrave
  • 1993 Bill Whitaker
  • 1994 Dr. Clifford Rosen
  • 1996 Jeanne Hood
  • 1997 F. Peter McCarron
  • 1998 Marie Mullin
  • 1999 Dr. Margaret Eastman Farmer
  • 2000 Lynn McGrath
  • 2001 Dr. Dora Anne Mills
  • 2002 Lucinda Hale                                                  
  • 2003 Elizabeth Patten                                             
  • 2004 Agriculture Commissioner, Robert Spear
  • 2005 Lynn Bolduc
  • 2006 Mary Owen
  • 2007 Nellie Hedstrom
  • 2008 Helen Rankin
  • 2009 Richard A. Cook, Ph.D
  • 2010 Kirsten Walter, Director, Nutrition Center of Maine in Lewiston
  • 2011 Cherie Merrill, School Food Service Director, RSU3
  • 2012 Karen Kleinkopf, FARMS
  • 2013 Willie Grenier, Maine Agriculture in the Classroom
  • 2014 Kathy Halpin, Maine Medical Center & Marlene Hall, WIC Washington County
  • 2016 Gail Lombardi, Maine Dept. of Education Child and Nutrition Services
  • 2016 Sheila Costello, Waldo County General Hospital Nutrition Services Manager                                                                                                                                                                              

For more information, please contact us at info@mainenutritioncouncil.org

Our Mission

The Maine Nutrition Council promotes the mission of its founders – to contribute to the health and well-being of Maine citizens through education, research and advocacy.